“The pieces of shit should be there, too…”

I don’t mind the suggestions about what are good songs… But the pieces of shit should be there, too, […] so you know the difference. Some of it is good, some of it is crap that wasn’t released – there’s a reason… […] That’s what a fuckin’ archive is about, not “Here’s Neil Young in all his wonderfulness – the great, phenomenal fucking wonderfulness.” That’s not what I want. I want people to know how fuckin’ terrible I was. How scared I was and how great I was. The real picture – that’s what I’m looking for. Not a product. And I think that’s what the die-hard fans want – the whole fuckin’ thing.

[…]

Y’know, I don’t give a shit whether anybody BUYS it or not. I just wanna do it. And there may only be two hundred copies, signed by me. But it’s gonna fuckin’ exist. When it’s done, people can do whatever the fuck they want, make any fuckin’ order they want out of it. But they’re gonna have the whole fuckin’ thing to choose from. They’re not gonna get part of it. Everything – the good, the bad, the ugly.

Neil Young discussing his potential Archives in an interview with Jimmy McDonough; specific date unknown

Reference: McDonough, J. (2002). Shakey: Neil Young’s Biography. UK: Vintage Press. “Innaresting characters”, p. 10

See also: “You have to be ready to give everything you have…”

Leave a Reply

