“I really don’t think I know that much…”

I don’t really have the confidence to stand behind things that I say – because I really don’t think I know that much. […] That’s better than somebody who’s confident they they know what they’re talking about and they’re sure – because that leads them down a path. […] Even the things I believe in the most, I doubt. And so when I see something that I’ve said, or hear it – it makes sense to me that I might not feel the same way next time. Because that’s the way I am.

Neil Young in an interview with Jimmy McDonough; specific date unknown

Reference: McDonough, J. (2002). Shakey: Neil Young’s Biography. UK: Vintage Press. “Mr. Blue and Mr. Red”, p.38.

Leave a Reply

